Georges SAFI

Safi Georges is a doctor in marine biology specialised in physiology and biology of organisms - populations - interactions. His career, academic and professional, has been always focusing on the marine world and the various problems that may relate to it: From eco-physiological study of marine organisms and certain associated anthropogenic pressures, to sustainable management of marine resources and ecosystem protection.

During the preparation of his graduate degree, he discovered during internships in the Coastal Environment Research Centre CREC, the effects of anthropogenic pressures on marine organisms (eg effect of heavy metals on the embryonic stages of Sepia officinalis) but also the recovery of by-products from fishing such as autolysates as supplementary food in rearings (Dicentrarchus labrax and Penaeus japonicus) (for more sustainable management of waste from marine exploitations). In this context of marine by-products recovery, he worked thereafter, during his master and in collaboration with the company IVAMER on the extraction of Beta-chitin (for pharmaceuticals) from cuttlefish bone using a biological fermentation process. He then completed his university studies in the UMR BOREA by doing a thesis during 3 years that he defended on May 13, 2013. This work was part of a sustainable management project on cephalopods aiming to provide recommendations to fishermen and managers to protect nursery areas, major areas contributing to the renewal of the cuttlefish stock (Project INTERREG IV-A CRESH). As part of this project, the thesis has mainly examined the physiological performance (ie maturation of the digestive and immune systems) of early life stages of cuttlefish in relation to eggs incubation conditions, looking at abiotic conditions (ie temperature and salinity), in various nurseries of the English and French coasts of the English Channel.

From June 2013 to September 2015, Georges Safi had held a position of "project manager" for the D4 of the MSFD at UMR BOREA (Caen) with a greater emphasis on international work providing support to D4. As such, he was deputy leader of the FoodWebs COBAM group which gathers European experts working on food webs issues within OSPAR). The group is currently focusing on the development of biodiversity indicators (List of indicators) that would become common to the different EU member states.

Researchgate
LinkedIn

Diary

<<

2019

 

<<

January

 

Today

MoTuWeThFrSaSu
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031123
Aucun évènement à venir les 6 prochains mois

Statistics

Latest update

Wednesday 22 August 2018

Visits

60 today
75 yesterday
66143 from the beginning
4 visiteurs actuellement connectés

Georges SAFI

Georges Safi est docteur en biologie marine spécialité physiologie et biologie des organismes – populations - interactions. Son parcours, universitaire puis professionnel, a toujours été tourné vers le monde marin et les diverses problématiques pouvant s’y rattacher : de l’étude éco-physiologique des organismes marins et de certaines pressions anthropiques associées, à la gestion durable des ressources marines et la protection des écosystèmes.

Au cours de son premier cycle Universitaire, il a pu découvrir, au cours de divers stages au Centre de recherche en Environnement Côtier CREC, les effets des pressions anthropiques sur les organismes marins (e.g. Effet des métaux lourds sur les stades embryonnaires de Sepia officinalis) mais aussi la valorisation de co-produits issus de la pêche en autolysats, en tant que compléments alimentaires, dans divers élevages (Dicentrarchus Labrax et Penaeus Japonicus) (pour une gestion plus durable des déchets issus des exploitations marines). Dans le domaine de la valorisation des co-produits marins, il a pu travailler par la suite, durant son master et en collaboration avec la société IVAMER, sur l’extraction de chitine Beta (à des fins pharmaceutiques) à partir d’os de Sepia par l’utilisation d’un procédé biologique de fermentation. Il a ensuite complété son cursus universitaire au sein de l’UMR BOREA, par une thèse de 3 ans qu’il a soutenue le 13 mai 2013. Ce travail s’inscrivait dans une problématique de gestion durable des céphalopodes en Manche et de fournir des recommandations aux pêcheurs et aux gestionnaires pour la protection des zones de nourricerie, principales zones contribuant au renouvellement des stocks (Projet INTERREG IV-A CRESH). Dans le cadre de ce projet, la thèse de Georges Safi s’est essentiellement penchée sur les performances physiologiques (i.e. maturation du système digestif et immunitaire) des jeunes stades de vie de la seiche en relation avec les conditions abiotiques (i.e. température et salinité) d’incubation des œufs dans les diverses nourriceries des côtes anglaises et françaises en Manche.

De juin 2013 à septembre 2015, Georges Safi a occupé un poste de « chargé de mission » pour le D4 de la DCSMM à l’UMR BOREA (Caen) avec un accent plus marqué sur les travaux internationaux apportant un appui au D4. A ce titre, il a co-animé avec Nathalie Niquil le groupe d’experts européens sur les réseaux trophiques (FoodWebs COBAM/OSPAR) dont les travaux se focalisent actuellement sur le développement d’indicateurs de biodiversité qui soient communs aux différents états membres de l’UE (Liste des indicateurs du groupe).

Researchgate
LinkedIn

Agenda

<<

2017

 

<<

Novembre

 

Aujourd'hui

LuMaMeJeVeSaDi
303112345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930123
Aucun évènement à venir les 6 prochains mois

Statistiques

Dernière mise à jour

jeudi 5 janvier 2017

Visites

19 aujourd'hui
35 hier
29593 depuis le début
2 visiteurs actuellement connectés